A Walk in Spring


Spring Ice, Farmstead Trail (Sony RX100)

Yesterday, perhaps for the first time this spring, the sun was bright, the temperatures mild to a degree where a midday walk would not become an exercise in moving, just to stay warm.

I elected to walk in my local state park. Given the relative preciousness of the spring sunshine, I chose a trail that involved mainly old farmland, there I could bask in the warmth.

Saplings (Sony RX 100)

I assumed the scenery would be bleak, so I carried with me only a pocket camera, my Sony RX 100, in case I did come upon a photographic opportunity.

On the way, in the truck, I resolved to challenge myself to “reach” a bit and see whether I could come up with enough reasonable images, even given the slim photo “pick in’s” in late March in eastern Pennsylvania, perhaps to feature in a an article. You can be the judge of whether I have succeeded.

Early spring images it seems to me, are often less about colors, and more about patterns. In some captures, moving to black and white is helpful in subtracting the monotonous browns and greys, allowing the eye to focus on what is visually interesting.

Wind Blown ( Sony RX100)

The weather (mid 50’sF) was on my side allowing me to by more contemplative than I am when it is 40 degrees colder.

The temps have been cold here, but the March sun is fairly strong, and our robust snowpack has been reduced to a few  patches  where there is shade, or where the winter winds formed deep drifts.

Snow by the Field’s Edge (Sony RX 100)

As I begin my walks, I note that robins are calling; I catch a glimpse of a fleeing plover who is is alarmed at my approach.

Small vernal streams and ponds are thawing, soon, there will be clusters of frog and salamander eggs at the edges, hoping to hatch before the water disappears.

Melting ( Sony RX 100)

The fields give evidence of the harshness of the previous season, with the grass matted down from the heavy winter snows.

Spring Grass (Sony RX 100)

Some remnants of the late summer remain: these spent milkweed pods were swaying to-and-fro in the gentle March breezes.

Milkweeds in Spring (Sony RX 100)

Sadly as I write this, a front has passed; it is 32 degrees and intermittently snowing. There is talk of a snowstorm later in the week. Such is March and April in the Pennsylvania mountains. Patience is a virtue.

Now, did I succeed in my challenge?

 

About henrysmithscottage

Henry F.Smith Jr. has been involved in photography for 35 years. He has become well known as a chronicler of the Eastern US landscapes , though his portfolio includes, portrait, event, and "street photography". His work has been displayed in multiple galleries throughout the northeastern US, and is available for sale for use in public and commercial spaces. His book "Pennsylvania Seasons" is available through major booksellers. He is also a writer and editorialist whose work has appeared in a variety of "daily's" in Pennsylvania. "Dr. Smith" is also a Pulmonary and Sleep physician who practices in Wilkes-Barre, Pa. He is happily married, with two wonderful children. Inquiries to purchase prints, and for photographic services can be made through: Smithcottage@msn.com
This entry was posted in Appalachian Mountains, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Walk in Spring

  1. Alfred Kukitz says:

    Dr. Smith, I enjoy your honesty and your simplistic style in photography.

    Like

  2. maura nolan says:

    I love the idea that early Spring pictures tend to be more about patterns than color. I think these are absolutely beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

